To my Future Beloved

I don’t want you to remake me in the image you see fit.

I want you to trust my desire to be the strongest, smartest, bravest, most honest, most compassionate, most curious, best me that I can be each day. You will be a tool in that growth; but the hammer doesn’t draw the blueprints; it simply helps the home come to be.

I want you to be deeply invested in the person I am and curious about who I will be.

I want you revel in my willingness to go splunking in the dark places of my mind and my soul.

I want you to be endlessly fascinated with my ability to grow with each challenge, to be come stronger with each ordeal.

I don’t want you to ask me to slow down; I want you to be moved to keep pace with me.

I want you to understand it’s a responsibility to be in charge. My submission is no more a gift than your dominance; it is an agreement; but a precious one.

I understand that too.

Because I don’t want to remake you in the image that I see fit.

I trust your desire to be the strongest, smartest, bravest, most honest, most compassionate, most curious best you that you can be each day. I know that I am a tool in your growth, but I cannot make you grow.

I will revel in your willingness to reach into the dark places of your mind and your soul.

I will be endlessly fascinated with your ability to grow with each challenge, I will celebrate with you when you share what you’ve learned.

I will not ask you to slow down; instead I will do the work I need to do to keep pace with you.

This is my promise to you.

For as long as it makes sense for us to be together.

Originally posted to FetLife – April 2013 – reposted here for sharing purposes

2 thoughts on “To my Future Beloved

    1. Heather says:

      I guess I *could* have gone for something more traditionally romantic like ‘for as long as I live’ – but why wreck so much honesty by ending it in lies?

Leave a Reply

